What's Happening



2019 Events and Race Calendar


March

  • SPRING AHEAD SAILORS' SOCIAL (SASS): Mar 10, Sunday, 1:30PM to 3:30PM @ Christy's Landing Restaurant. Guest Speaker and snacks provided.


May

  • PIER, FINGERS and LIFTS INSTALLED: May 1 (Projected).
  • ANNUAL BREAKFAST MEETING: May 11, Saturday, 10:00AM to 11:00AM @ Green Lantern Restaurant.


June

  • DRY LAND: Jun 2, Sunday (time TBD): Safety and sailing basics review session @ Keeler’s house.
  • RACE DAY: Jun 9, Sunday, 11:00AM: 1st Day of the Season! Two (2) races scheduled. After race gathering @ Gaffney’s Cottage.
  • FATHER’S DAY: Jun 16, Sunday: No races.
  • RACE THE LAKE & TIE-OFF: Jun 22, Saturday, 2:30PM: Cruiser friendly race, open to all classes. Start from McDaniel Pier, tie-off social at Goodland Park (details to follow).
  • RACE DAY: Jun 30, Sunday, 11:00AM: Two (2) races scheduled.
  • FRIENDS & FAMILY SAIL DAY: Jun 30, Sunday, 2:00PM: McDaniel Pier – open to the public.

July

  • JOHN GAFFNEY POKER RUN & BOAT PARADE: Jul 7, Sunday, 11:00AM: Breakfast start at Green Lantern @ 10:00AM. Second cards at Christy’s. Final cards & Refreshments @ Gaffney’s cottage.
  • RACE DAY: Jul 14, Sunday, 11:00AM: Two (2) races scheduled. After race gathering @ Christy’s.
  • RACE DAY: Jul 21, Sunday, 11:00AM: Two (2) races scheduled. After race gathering @ Christy’s.
  • PIRATE’S RACE: Jul 28, Sunday, 11:00AM: Come in costume and be prepared to battle for your flag! Pre-race breakfast and meeting at Greenie @ 10:00AM.


August

  • RACE DAY: Aug 4, Sunday, 11:00AM: Two (2) races scheduled.
  • SAILOR’S CORN ROAST: Aug 4, Sunday: After Race gathering @ Keeler’s.
  • RACE DAY: Aug 11, Sunday, 11:00AM: Two (2) races scheduled. After race gathering @ Christy’s.
  • VENETIAN NIGHT: Aug16, Friday, 6:00PM: Dinner picnic @ McDaniel Park and full-moon sail. Decorate your boat and light up the night (details to follow)!
  • RACE DAY: Aug 18, Sunday, 11:00AM: Two (2) races scheduled. After race gathering @ Christy’s.
  • RACE DAY: Aug 25, Sunday, 11:00AM: Two (2) races scheduled. Ladies at the helm. After race gathering @ Christy’s.


September

  • RACE DAY: Sep 1, Sunday, 11:00AM: Two (2) races scheduled. After race gathering @ Christy’s.
  • RACE DAY: Sep 8, Sunday, 11:00AM: Last day of the season! One (1) race scheduled.
  • ANNUAL PICNIC & AWARDS: Sep 8, Sunday, 1:30PM: Come celebrate the sailing season with picnic and awards @ Gaffney’s Cottage 1:30-4:30PM.


October

  • PIER REMOVAL: Date TBD: @ McDaniel Pier (details to follow).


December

  • HOLIDAY BRUNCH/SOCIAL: Date and location TBD (details to follow).


Wednesday Rallies in July

During July the Waubesa Sailing Club will feature sailing rallies (very informal beer can races) every Wednesday evening beginning at 6:30 PM.

Rallies are set for July 3, 10, 17, 24 and 31 (weather permitting). There will be no committee boat and the minimum number of marks will be set with a very simple course. A GO/NO message will be sent. These rallies are open to all classes. Start/Finish will be set off of the old Beach House site(presently the new condos buildings).


Come join the fun and match your sailing skills against mother nature!